Search

12 Reviews

Wonderful 4.9/5


 

Perfect place for a special vacation!

5/5
Stayed Jan 2019
Mary M.

We recently returned from Eleuthera and had rented all of Bldg. 1 for a family holiday celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary. This was the island where we spent out honeymoon and it didn't disappoint 50 years later. Since there were 15 people, including children, the spacious grounds, heated pool and all sorts of beach amenities made our time there perfect. The condos were much better equipped than other places we have experienced in our travels and added significantly to our comfort.

The location of the property allows guests to enjoy both the Caribbean and Atlantic, which is very unique for properties on the island. In addition, being in the central part of the island, we could explore many beaches both north and south, as well as the small, interesting eating places. The staff associated with the compound were extremely helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. Having basic groceries delivered in advance was expensive, but well worth it when arriving after long air flights.

For anyone wanting to have a unique, wonderful island holiday, this gem of a place is perfect!
Published Feb 5, 2019



Christmas at Buttonwood

5/5
Stayed Dec 2018
Diane H.

Memorable Christmas with family in Eleuthera.  Beautiful views, well maintained, great location! One of my favorite trips!
Published Jan 3, 2019



One of the best family vacations ever!!!

5/5
Stayed Sep 2018
Michael S.

My family of five absolutely loved this place. The two bedroom condo was well furnished and clean.  There was plenty of room for everyone to sleep comfortably. We had a beautiful view  of the Carribean Sea and the stars at night were spectacular.   The staff was courteous and professional.  Everyone felt safe and comfortable.

Eluethera is an amazing place with a lot to see and do.  One of the best things about this property is it’s central location. It’s only a short drive to Twin Coves Beach (our favorite).   Our second favorite adventure was cave exploring which was also only a short drive.  My kids loved the ocean hole. A 700 ft deep blue hole with lots of fish and small cliffs for jumping off.  It was a short drive to Governors Bay for “Fish Fry” on Friday night.  We enjoyed a meal with the locals and some other tourists.  The locals were as cordial and pleasant as anyone could be. It was a truly special experience.

The property itself is special. It offers easy acces to both  the Carribean and Atlantic.  Each unit has its own golf cart.  It’s a five minute ride down a well maintained path to the Atlantic side. You will have the beach to yourself likely. My kids loved playing in the waves on the Atlantic side.  The water was clear and deep blue. They rolled around in the waves for hours. An even shorter golf cart ride brings you to the clear turquoise waters of the Carribean.  We absolutely loved jumping off the boat dock into the crystal clear water.  The snorkeling was great. We saw grouper and snapper right off the dock. We explored on stand up paddle boards and kayaks.  You could spend a week just enjoying the pool, Atlantic, and the Carribean right from the property and have a great vacation.

Overall it was a great experience that I highly recommend you try.  Matt Simon helped us arrange this vacation and everything was first class.
Published Sep 17, 2018



Pristine. Private. Peaceful. Paradise.

5/5
Stayed Sep 2018
Rachel R.

Buttonwood Reserve, tucked into a sleepy seaside corner of Eleuthera Island in the Bahamas, was the site of one of the most relaxing, memorable vacations we’ve ever enjoyed. Booking was easy and transparent and customer service friendly and responsive. The resort itself is spacious and versatile, ideal for couples, individual families, best friend getaways, reunions or small business retreats. There are plenty of opportunities to gather, but ample privacy too.

Buttonwood is a 30-minute scenic drive from the tiny airport in Governor's Harbour. This assumes you don’t stop a full hour on the way (as I highly recommend) at Eleuthera’s narrowest point, where a coral cliff side climb is rewarded with arresting views of azure Atlantic waves crashing on one side and crystal-clear, blue-green Caribbean glass-like on the other.

Each unit is clean, sunny and bright, furnished with comfortable, ocean-inspired decor with a tasteful modern twist. Gorgeous natural light streams through the wide windows in every room. With an ocean-facing entrance deck and rear terraces overlooking the Caribbean, the whole vibe is buoyant and breezy. Sunsets on the balcony are better than fireworks - an explosion of crimson, gold and pink eventually fade to a clear black canvas of sky, speckled with countless stars. Watch long enough, you might catch a few streaking silently across the expanse.

The open-air private pool is surrounded by ample lounge chairs and shaded by mature palms, thick tropical shrubs and broad white trellises. A two-minute golf cart ride, and you're at an amazing beach - Atlantic or Caribbean - take your pick. The latter is stunningly picturesque and serene, while former is equally frame-worthy and awesome for wave-jumping.  

If you’re itching to venture out, choices are copious - but none kitschy or touristy. Though all destinations are publicly-accessible, they feel almost exclusive. Buttonwood’s property manager offered great insider tips and key details on nearby powder-sand beaches, underground cave exploration, heart-stopping cliff jump-offs, boating charters, lively weekend nightlife scenes in downtown Governors Harbour and five-star dining at local restaurants and resorts. If you prefer dining in, in-suite kitchen has all modern appliances, utensils and conveniences.

Buttonwood Reserve is a gem of a resort on a treasure of an island - a phenomenal place to experience this rare paradise.
Published Oct 22, 2018



Amazing property, well situated

5/5
Stayed Jun 2017
Peter L.

My family rented one of the buildings and had an amazing time at Buttonwood! It has every thing you could need on an incredible property which is well situated on the island to explore but you also don't need to leave.  Hop on the golf cart and head to the incredible Atlantic beach with two shipwrecks within a mile and not a soul around.  Or walk across the street to the Caribbean. Just hang by the pool? Situated near the middle of the island you can go north or south. We did as much as we could in a week and it wasn't nearly enough time - already plotting our return.  Staff was super friendly and helpful and condos are very clean and modern.  Easy to recommend.
Published Jun 30, 2017



Great for a large group

5/5
Stayed Sep 2016
A. E.

My colleagues and I rented an entire building on the Buttonwood property for our annual work retreat (4 units for 10 people). Here's what they had to say about our experience there.

"We had a large group that rented multiple units at the Buttonwood Reserve. We found the accommodations to be more than acceptable, the house has a convenient location on the island and offers wonderful privacy and easy access to the beach. It was recommended that we purchase bottled water for drinking which was a bit of a hassle and added expense but overall it wouldn't deter me from recommending this place for your stay."

"The layout of the house is perfect for a large group. We watched the most beautiful sunsets over a glassy Caribbean from the 2nd story porch. Loved it!"

"Beautiful location, grounds, interior layout, design and furnishings, pretty much everything we needed and then some. Several quirks/issues, like the unlabeled soap packets (led to dishwasher overflow), A/C fail in one bedroom, some interior/exterior doors that wouldn't latch and/or lock."

"- Great location

- New, comfortable, clean, well-equipped

- Beautiful views

- Helpful staff

- Snorkeling right off the property is not the greatest - shallow and sandy on the Caribbean side, rough water and far out on the Atlantic side"

"Buttonwood was a perfect place for our annual company retreat. The rooms were well equipped, clean, comfortable and perfectly accommodated our large group. Easy access to the water and other fun things to do was also a huge plus."

I would agree with all of the sentiments expressed above. I also appreciated the unobtrusive check-ins that Buttonwood sent via email. I always felt that if we needed something, we could reach out. One additional thing to note is that power failures seem to be common; the "PF" sign was blinking on the stoves when we first arrived, and there were a few outages during a storm on our last day. That's a risk you run when you come during hurricane season, though. Thanks again, Buttonwood!
Published Sep 30, 2016



Amazing Property!

5/5
Stayed Jun 2016
Edgar S.

Beautiful place in Eleuthera, the buildings are on a hill so the views of the ocean are amazing. The condos have a nice layout, they are modern, clean, and the property is spotless. Loved the pool, the golf carts and star-gazing at night. The staff was very helpful and responsive, customer service was superb. Highly recommended!  
Published Jun 22, 2016



Perfect Wedding and Vacation in Paradise

5/5
Stayed May 2015
Asya K.Tacoma, WA

We had a wonderful week long stay at Buttonwood Reserve in May 2015. The condos are beautiful and modern. They also worked perfectly for our large party, some of which had young children. The views are spectacular!

Matthew and Tia were wonderful and perfectly accommodating to all of our needs.

We got married at a nearby beach and had our reception at Buttonwood. It was the perfect venue. Tia arranged every detail and made it a day we will never forget.

Overall, we had a wonderful experience and will certainly be back in the future!
Published May 27, 2015



Breathtaking & Peaceful Buttonwood Reserve

5/5
Stayed Dec 2014
Bach H.

We had such a nice time at Buttonwood Reserve.   The property was so breathtaking & peaceful.  The condo units were very nice & the interior designs were really great.  The staff was awesome.  Tia was so accommodating to us.  Brenda, the head housekeeper, is such a doll.  They were very sweet, friendly & helpful.  The grounds were perfect.  The kids made good use of the pool & the adults used the kayaks.  The golf carts were definitely helpful in getting around to the beach.  We LOVED the Atlantic side with the shipwreck.  The kids were in awe of the waves crashing on them.  The sunrises & sunsets were incomparable.  Buttonwood Reserve was just a perfect getaway!
Published Jan 10, 2015



Wow!

5/5
Stayed Jul 2014
Peter O.Dublin

I was traveling with my 3 daughters and their reaction on arrival captured it all, wow. The setting is fantastic and the property is as described. Our condo was on its first rental, so it had that new car feel to it. The support from initial enquiry and through the stay was great and all my silly questions were answered by Matt and Tara (Eleuthera Vacation Rentals).

We really enjoyed our Atlantic beach and the fantastic views from the property. Kayaks provided too were great fun.
Published Aug 28, 2014



Amazing views with every modern amenity

4/5
Stayed Jun 2014

The units were so lovely, modern and comfortable. Having the golf carts made it fun to get around from the Carribean to the Atlantic. A wonderful family trip!
Published Jun 12, 2014



New, well maintained and excellent viiews!

5/5
Stayed Mar 2014
Jim K.

This was really like being on your own island in a way.  There was no one else for miles on either of the beaches.  The golf carts were a great way to get around the property.  There was a close grocery store for supplies.  The views were magnificent. Sitting on the deck listening to the ocean and no sounds from other people was very relaxing and just what we were looking for.  We were travelling with small children, and felt very safe to let them roam and explore.  The staff was very helpful, and groundskeepers were there daily and were able to answer any of our concerns.  Would highly recommend!
Published Apr 5, 2014


Copied from https://www.vrbo.com/3588699ha